Define: “Blogging Guilt”

Blogging Guilt – noun. The feeling of guilt caused by not constantly updating a blog.

I don’t know what to blog about. But here I am, trying to make something out of the nothing that resides between my ears.

Aside from that, if I wasn’t required to blog by this class (being Online Journalism 1, check out the hashtag) then I’d probably still be sitting here at my desk, wondering just what I should write a blog about.

I have blogging guilt.

I’m not entirely sure that’s a thing. There are quite a few things about blogging I don’t understand, so I wouldn’t be completely surprised if I made that term up.

In any event, the source of the guilt I’ve been feeling came from the week two guest lecturer we had for Online Journalism 1. Nikki Parkinson from the Styling You fashion blog dropped by to have a chat. And it so seems that with the widespread adoption of social media by the world at large and not just the geeks and college kids, journalists as professionals need to adopt the ever-changing medium in the fight to stay relevant.

They say that news has to be new and that’s not really news to anyone.

Something your average Joe Blow wouldn’t know is that blogging is a part of social media and is a different way to interact with people over the web. It can also be a solid base for a journalist to build a career on. Don’t take my word for it, Nikki’s done that herself, just ask her.

So that is where I start to feel guilty. If I can use a blog to build a folio that could help me land a job somewhere down the line, why aren’t I doing it? With more and more jobs calling for people who are social media savvy, could not owning and updating a blog be detrimental to my chances of landing a job as a journalist of the future? Hell, if said blog gained enough of a following I could end up monetising my internal ramblings made external and live off that!

But for the moment, I can’t take advantage of all the tips that Nikki gave us during our lecture in building my blog for my career. Partially because this blog is for assessment. Partially because I’m still getting used to terms like “blogosphere” and all kinds of different blogging jargon.

If I do start blogging though, some of the pointers I’d have to take away from Nikki would be to write about what I know, be myself and try to tell an entertaining story. But then again if I did that, I’d be writing about Hip-Hop and Kanye West.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

